© 2023 WXPR
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Republican Lawmakers in Northern Wisconsin Fare Well in Tuesday Elections

Northern Wisconsin Republican lawmakers found success in Tuesday’s elections.

In the 12th State Senate District, State Rep. Mary Felzkowski (R-Tomahawk) defeated Ed Vocke (D-Minocqua) by a two-to-one margin. The district covers parts of 11 counties in northcentral and northeast Wisconsin.

Rep. Rob Swearingen (R-Rhinelander) was reelected to a fifth term, beating Minocqua businessman Kirk Bangstad by about 25 points in the 34th Assembly District. The area includes Oneida and Vilas counties.

Lincoln County Board Supervisor Calvin Callahan (R-Tomahawk), a 21-year-old, will join the State Assembly. He easily outpaced Tyler Ruprecht (D-Merrill) in a district including Tomahawk, Merrill, and Antigo.

Rep. Pat Snyder was reelected in his Wausau-area district, beating Marathon County Board Supervisor Jeff Johnson by ten points.

Rep. James Edming (R-Glen Flora) buried Democratic challenger Richard Pulcher by a 40-point margin.

Democrats appear to have won in the 74th Assembly District, which covers Iron, Price, and a part of Vilas counties. Rep. Beth Meyers (D-Bayfield) appears to have beaten James Bolen (R-Cable) by a narrow margin.

Ben worked as the Special Topics Correspondent at WXPR from September 2019 until November 2021. He now contributes occasionally to WXPR. During his full-time employment, his main focus was reporting on environment and natural resources issues in northern Wisconsin and Michigan's Upper Peninsula as part of The Stream, a weekly series.