© 2024 WXPR
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Assembly Members Take Oath of Office Virtually

Governor Evers Website

Gov. Tony Evers is swearing in state Assembly Democrats in a virtual ceremony. Evers met with the Democratic caucus through Zoom on Monday afternoon.

He swore in new members Deb Andraca, Samba Baldeh,  Sue Conley, Dora Drake, Francesca Hong, Supreme Moore Omokunde, Sylvia Ortiz-Velez, Sara Rodriguez, Kristina Shelton and Lee Snodgrass individually.

He swore returning members in en masse.

Republicans emerged from the November elections with a 61-38 majority in the Assembly.

The GOP also maintained its majority in the state Senate, setting up a frustrating session for Democrats.

The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.
Up North Updates
* indicates required