© 2024 WXPR
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

11th Republican retires from Wisconsin Assembly


Another Republican has decided to retire from the Wisconsin Assembly.

Rep. Tyler Vorpagel of Plymouth announced Monday he won't seek reelection this fall.

He said it's time to move on with the next chapter in his life.

He didn't elaborate.

Vorpagel has served in the body since 2015.

He's the 11th Republican to retire this year and second in less than a week.

Rep. Samantha Kerkman of Salem Lakes won the race for Kenosha County executive in the April 5 spring elections and will have to leave the Assembly because she can't serve in both positions.

Overall, 17 Assembly members and six senators are not seeking reelection.

The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.
Up North Updates
* indicates required
Related Content